International Conference on Cyber Engagement 2016


On April 26, 2016, the Georgetown University CyberProject held the sixth annual International Engagement on Cyber conference. This gathering promoted dialogue among policymakers, academics, and key industry stakeholders from across the globe, and explored the worldwide community’s increasing interconnectivity in this domain. 

Panel and keynote information and photos from the event are available below. You may access video from the event by clicking on the session titles below.

WELCOME AND OPENING KEYNOTE: "Cybersecurity: A View from the Hill"

Joel S. Hellman | Dean, Georgetown University School of Foreign Service
Dr. Catherine Lotrionte | Director, Master of Science in Foreign Service CyberProject, Georgetown University School of Foreign Service
The Honorable Sheldon Whitehouse | U.S. Senator, Rhode Island

PANEL ONE: "Preparing Nations to be Cyber Ready"

Moderated by: Ms. Melissa Hathaway | President, Hathaway Global Strategies;Principal Investigator, Cyber Readiness Index 2.0

Ms. Panagiota-Nayia Barmpaliou | Cybersecurity and Organised CrimeProgramme Manager, European Commission, DG International Cooperation and Development, European Union, BelgiumDr. Paolo Ciocca | Deputy Director-General, Security Intelligence Department, Italy
Mr. Belisario Contreras | Cyber Security Program Manager, Organization of American States
Mr. Michel van Leeuwen | Head of Cybersecurity Policy Department,Directorate for Cyber Security, the NetherlandsMs. Sandra Ragg | Assistant Secretary Cyber Policy, Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet, Australia 
Mr. Andrea Rigoni | Chairman and Managing Partner of Intellium Ltd., United Kingdom

Keynote Address: "Privacy, Public Safety, and Security: How We Can Confront the Cyber Threat Together"

The Honorable James B. Comey | Director, The Federal Bureau of Investigation

Panel Two: "International Norms for Responsible State Behavior"

Moderated by: Dr Joseph S. Nye, Jr. | University Distinguished Service Professor and former Dean, Harvard’s Kennedy School of Government

Mr. Karsten Geier | Head, Cyber Policy Coordination Staff, Federal Foreign Office, Germany
Mr. Zhixiong Huang | Deputy Director and Luojia Chair Professor at the Institute of International Law of Wuhan University, China
Dr. James Andrew Lewis | Senior Vice President and Director, Strategic Technologies Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies
Mr. Chris Painter | Coordinator for Cyber Issues, U.S. Department of State

Lunch Panel Room AG: "The Wassenaar Arrangement: What it Means for the Future of Global Cybersecurity

Moderated by: Ms. Cheri McGuire | Vice President for Global Government Affairs and Cybersecurity Policy, Symantec

Dr. Elaine Korzak | W. Glenn Campbell and Rita Ricardo-Campbell National Fellow, The Hoover Institution, Stanford University
Mr. Robert Mayer | Vice President, Industry and State Affairs, USTelecom Association
Mr. Jeff Moss | Former Vice President and Chief Security Officer of ICANN;Founder and Director of Black Hat and DEF CON.
Réka Szemerkényi | Ambassador of Hungary to the United States; Former Chief Advisor for Foreign and Security Policy to the Prime Minister of Hungary
Mr. Albrecht von Wittke | Minister Counselor, Political Department, Embassy ofthe Federal Republic of Germany

Lunch Panel Room BC: EU-US Privacy Shield: What the Future Holds for Data Transfers Across the Atlantic

Moderated by: Mr. Samuel S. Visner | Senior Vice President and General Manager, Enterprise Cybersecurity and Resilience, ICF International

Ms. Shannon Coe | Team Lead, Data Flows and Privacy, International Trade Administration, U.S. Department of Commerce
Ms. Siobhan Gorman | Director, Cybersecurity and Privacy, Brunswick Group LLC
Dr. Jaap-Henk Hoepman | Scientific Director of the Privacy & Identity Lab,Radboud University, the Netherlands
Mr. David A. Hoffman |Director of Security Policy and Global Privacy Officer,Intel Corporation
Mr. Grant Waterfall | | Cybersecurity and Privacy Assurance Leader, PwC

Lunch Panel Room DE: Cyber Accountability: Working Towards a Stable Cyberspace

Moderated by: Dr. Madeline Carr | | Senior Lecturer in International Relations,Cardiff University, United Kingdom

Ms. Florida Kabasinga |Managing Partner, Certa Law, Rwanda
Mr. Saif Al Nuaimi |Chief of Regulatory and Strategic Affairs, National Electronic Security Authority, the United Arab Emirates
Ms. Simone Petrella |Chief Cybersecurity Officer, CyberVista
Ambassador Pia Rantala-Engberg |Ambassador for Cyber Affairs, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Finland

Lunch Panel Room FH: Critical Services & Infrastructure: Protecting Vital Elements of Modern Society

Moderated by: Mr. Luke Dembosky | Partner, Debevoise & Plimpton’s Cybersecurity & Data Privacy Group

Mr. Rich Baich | Chief Information Security Officer, Wells Fargo
Mr. Andrew Bochman | Senior Cyber and Energy Security Strategist, Idaho National Lab
Mr. Jamil Farshchi | Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer, The Home Depot
Mr. Lior Frenkel |CEO and Co-founder, Waterfall Security Solutions, Israel
Mr. Tom Patterson | Vice President and General Manager, Unisys Global Security Solutions

Keynote Address “USCYBERCOM and NSA: Their Roles in Cybersecurity”

Admiral Michael S. Rogers |US Navy, Commander, US Cyber Command, Director, National Security Agency/Chief, Central Security Service

Panel Three: "Encryption & National Security"

Moderated by: Mr. Stewart A. Baker | Partner, Steptoe & Johnson LLP

Mr. Dan Kaminsky | Chief Scientist, White Ops
Mr. Kiran Raj | Senior Counsel to the Deputy Attorney General, U.S. Department of Justice
Dr. Zulfikar Ramzan | Chief Technology Officer, RSA Security

Panel Four: "Deterring Malicious Actions in Cyberspace Before They Happen: Different National Perspectives"

Moderated by: Mr. Robert “Bob” Butler |Co-Founder and Managing Director, Cyber Strategies LLC; Former Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Cyber Policy, U.S. Department of Defense

Mr. Dean Cheng | Senior Research Fellow, The Heritage Foundation
The Honorable Franklin D. Kramer | Distinguished Fellow, Board Member, Atlantic Council
Dr. Jarno Limnéll | Professor of Cybersecurity, Aalto University, Finland
Dr. Lars D. Nicander | Director, Center for Asymmetric Threat Studies, Swedish Defence University, Sweden
The Honorable Franklin D. Kramer |
Dr. Wan S. Yi | Director of the Infrastructure Protection Division, Korea Internet & Security Agency, Korea

Event Documents

2016 Cyber Event Agenda